Bobby Mahoney and the Seventh Son are an Alt/Rock/Punk band from New Jersey, who utilizes catchy choruses, loud guitars, and insightful lyrics in their energetic and explosive live show.
The band was formed in December 2010 under the name "Seventh Son" in East Brunswick, NJ by Mahoney, Jon Alba, and Drew Agey. Originally intended for a single show, the band quickly caught on locally and began to play the New Jersey rock circuit.
In 2012, the band released its first EP, Only Ashes Remain, which featured both studio and live tracks. The band continued to trudge forward and was nominated for "Top Young Band" at the 2013 and 2014 Asbury Park Music Awards.
In 2014, the band rebranded as "Bobby Mahoney and the Seventh Son" while simultaneously undergoing some lineup changes. This version combined some of the favorite tracks of the previous run with some new ideas as well, but ultimately, the same fun rock that all fans grew to enjoy.
The band has shared bills with likes of Bon Jovi, Work in Progress (ft. Gaten Matarazzo of Stranger Things), The Gaslight Anthem, Palisades, The Verve Pipe, Mule Kick (ft. Frank Ferrer of Guns N Roses), Southside Johnny & the Asbury Jukes, Jesse Malin, Pianos Become the Teeth, John Eddie, and several other national acts while headlining shows of their own, and sharing the stage with many local bands in Asbury Park, and New Brunswick, such as Deal Casino, Modern Chemistry, The Vaughns, Hodera, and many more.
The band released its first full-studio album, "Friends in Low Places," in 2014 to rave reviews, along with being nominated again for "Top Young Band" in the Asbury Music Awards.
Then in July of 2015, the band released its sophomore effort "The Outskirts" which featured 10 brand new songs written by Mahoney/Alba, and the band was nominated for "Top Rock Band" in the 2015 Asbury Music Awards.
The single "Don't Ever Love Me" was chosen by DJ Rich Russo (WRAT, WDHA, Sirus XM) as #4 on his "New Jersey Top 15" and #11 on his "Everywhere Top 25" of 2015 lists.
With an updated line-up, the band released "Shot in the Dark" in July 2016, and followed up with a 10 day US Tour.
In 2017 and 2018 the band continued to tour, as far as New Orleans, hitting many new places. They released their self-titled EP in March 2018 and opened for rock legends, Bon Jovi in April 2018 at the Prudential Center!
All 4 albums are available on iTunes, Spotify, Bandcamp, and more!
Current lineup:
Bobby Mahoney, guitar/vocals
James McIntosh, drums
Andrew Saul, guitar/backing vocals
Jon Chang-Soon, bass/backing vocals